About Aruba

Aruba is an island in the Caribbean Sea. It is one of the four countries that make up the Kingdom of the Netherlands.

Vlag van Aruba
Flag of Aruba

Population: approx. 112,000

Capital: Oranjestad (pop. 35,000)

Area: 180 km2

Official languages: Dutch and Papiamento

Currency: Aruban florin

National holiday: 18 March

National anthem: Aruba Dushi Tera (‘Aruba Beautiful Country’)

Visiting Aruba

Are you planning to visit Aruba? Prepare your trip well. Go to aruba.com for detailed tourist information.

For a stay in Aruba, you may need a Caribbean visa.

Living in Aruba

Do you have plans to live in Aruba? There are several matters that need to be arranged first. You can read more about it on Travel and residence - Caribbean parts of the Kingdom.

Doing business in Aruba

Do you have plans to do business in Aruba? Make sure you’re well prepared. Learn about the local market, exporting to Aruba and finding a reliable business partner. Go to the website of RVO.nl (Netherlands Enterprise Agency) for more information (in Dutch) about business in Aruba.

Dutch representative office

There is no Dutch embassy in Aruba because Aruba is part of the Kingdom. However, there is a Dutch representative office that can provide limited assistance in emergencies, like a death or illness.


Aruba is one of four countries in the Kingdom of the Netherlands. King Willem-Alexander is the head of state of Aruba. The governor represents the monarch in Aruba.

The website of the Aruban government gives information about policy areas for which it has autonomous responsibility, such as education and healthcare.