The Netherlands and the African Union

The Netherlands embassy to Ethiopia is also the Permanent Representation of the Kingdom of the Netherlands to the African Union, IGAD and UNECA, all based in Addis Abeba.

The African Union is the African continental organization of 55 African member states. For more information see

IGAD, the Intergovernmental Authority on Development, is the Regional Economic Community of the African Union in the Horn of Africa. The IGAD region comprises the countries of Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan and Uganda. For more information see

UNECA, the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa is one of five regional commissions. Its member states are 54 African nations. ECA’s mandate is to promote the economic and social development of its member states, foster intra-regional integration, and promote international cooperation for Africa’s development. For more information see

Contacts within the embassy:

H.E. Mr. Bengt van Loosdrecht, Permanent Representative to the AU, IGAD and UNECA, Ambassador

Mr. Chris Devillers, deputy Permanent Representative to the AU, IGAD and UNECA

Lt. Col Mr. Magchiel Dierckx, Defence Attaché