New show by Dutch choreographers Imre and Marne Van Opstal & London-based Rambert Dance Company

A brand new show by Dutch dance choreographers Imre and Marne Van Opstal, created with London-based Rambert Dance Company, will be performed on 15, 16 and 17 July 2021. A 22-person-strong production crew, including 12 camera operators, will film and livestream the three performances. Tickets for the show are being sold through a dozen theaters that have programmed shows of Rambert in the past.

©Rambert Dance Company

Book tickets for one of the live shows:

  • Thursday 15 July at 3pm BST (16:00 CEST)
  • Friday 16 July at 8pm BST (21:00 CEST)
  • Saturday 17 July at 8pm BST (21:00 CEST)

Top dancers turned choreographers

Siblings Imre and Marne van Opstal are among the hottest new dance choreographers on the scene. Until last year they were top dancers themselves; Imre at Batsheva Dance Company in Israel and Marne at Nederlands Dans Theater in the Netherlands. Although both are still young enough to keep dancing on the highest level for years to come, they've decided to end their dancing careers to completely focus on choreographing dance performances, something sister Imre and brother Marne have been doing parttime for several years already.

EYE CANDY, as the Rambert show is called, is part of a double bill with ROUGE, by choreographer Marion Motin. ROUGE is an existing show that has been adapted for livestreaming, whereas EYE CANDY was created specifically for livestreaming. Because the performances are being filmed from many angles, audiences will get a completely different experience. They will not simply be watching a dance performance on a screen, they will feel as if they are in the middle of it.

The Van Opstal siblings and Rambert are working on a theatre stage version of EYE CANDY as well.

Culture funding from the Dutch Embassy in the UK

This collaboration of Marne and Imre van Opstal with Rambert Dance Company has received financial support from the Dutch Embassy in the UK. The Embassy has funding available to support collaborations between UK-based cultural institutions and cultural professionals from the Netherlands. More information about culture funding by the Dutch Embassy in the UK can be found on www.netherlandsandyou.nl/uk/culture.

Contact: lon-ppc@minbuza.nl.